Studying while sleeping?


What did you usually do in class? In Japan more than 40% of high school students doze off in class, according to a recent survey done by the Japan Youth Research Institute (questioned 6,000 students). Residents from four countries supplied the data: Japan, the U.S., China and South Korea. It seems that Japan was the winner with the most snoozers during class at 45.1%, followed by South Korea at 32.3%, then U.S. at 20.8% and China at 4.7%. Having the above in mind, not surprisingly the poll found also that Japanese students participate less in class than their peers in the other countries. While in Japan over 90% take notes, only 14.3% speak up in class; the smallest percentage among the four participating countries.
Japan’s high school students were once renowned for their diligence and self-discipline, but now are slacking off and falling behind their peers elsewhere in the world according to the study. The reason for the sleep deprivation is according to the students: staying up late to do e-mailing or playing games, which results in having lower concentration in school. “Japanese students are happy with the status quo and lack vision about their future,” the institute’s head Tamotsu Sengoku told AFP last month. “Among all the nations studied, Japan is particularly bad.” I am wondering whether at this age many students give up to reach for the stars for the rest of their lives? Why is it OK to sleep in class? Or have Japanese students simply learned over time that last minute efforts pays out. The study found also that Japanese students tended to “cram” information immediately before tests, while their foreign peers tended to study more regularly.
I might be naive, but I wish more students would realize the advantage of learning a lot while at young age, because the brain will certainly not cope better with learning with old age.

Brought to you by Sibylle Ito (シビル伊藤).

4 thoughts on “Studying while sleeping?

  1. can I just comment that I can totally vouch for this? I teach at a commercial high school in Gunma, and my kids look super well-rested at the end of the day. I don’t let them sleep in my class, though. I’m way too loud and obnoxious and their grade DEPENDS on how much they participate in class. If they raise their hand and answer a question (they don’t even necessarily have to get it right) or do a demonstration, they receive participation points. If they have no participation points at the end of the term and even scored perfectly on their tests… well.. they are still going to end up with a fairly low grade. I’ve had complaints and cryers and all sorts of things but it seems to be working for the vast majority of my students to get them to participate.
    maybe a participation-based grading system is needed in other schools?

  2. Dear Doreen, dear Rhett,

    thank you very much for your kind message. I was really suprised to get a message from my goddaughter and godson!
    I guess you were talking about my blog entry “Tokyo as the third and last step”. Next Saturday evening 19:30 on the myeyestokyo website, there will be the second part of the interview uploaded. Yes, it is in Japanese again and the topic is “Married to a Japanese”.

    I will then add later on some information in English about the content. So please come back to the blog.

    All the best for the cutest kids in the whole world: Doreen and Rhett!

    Thanks for your comments,

    Sibylle Ito

  3. Your Japanese is really good! Even though I don’t speak Japanese. And I can not believe you are on radio! By the way, the bike you gave me is very special to me. I like to ride it a lot.

  4. Sibylle, I love to hear your voice. But it would be better to translate into English so that I can understand!

Leave a Reply

