It is simply too hot!


I am a lover warm temperatures, but I have to confess this summer in Tokyo, it is too hot! Of course some companies are very happy with the increased turnover due to high temperatures. Japan Times reported that the domestic shipments of beer and beerlike alcoholic drinks in July increased 2.1 percent from a year earlier to 47.16 million cases. But overall I am very doubtful of a positive effect of this heat for the Japanese economy.
For weeks now the temperature in Tokyo is between 30-35 degrees celsius. Greetings has shifted to “isn’t it too hot” and speed of work has declined. The combination of the strong sun and high humidity has kept everyone sweating and dreaming about a cool spot to escape the heat. Amazingly not all homes have air-conditioning installed, letting the habitants barely sleep at night. In an effort to save energy as requested by the government many offices and public spaces like shopping malls are set at 28 degrees celsius. Yes, it is possible to function with a half awake brain at 28 degrees, but I have my doubts whether efficient output is possible. Let’s see next month, whether sales/production has increased in Japan – hopefully it will not be only air-conditioners and beverages.

Brought to you by Sibylle Ito (シビル伊藤)

4 thoughts on “It is simply too hot!

  1. Yep… I know what you mean. Last summer in Rio de Janeiro was also too hot… so hot that at 10am I almost fainted
    because it was already 44degrees celsius and I was inside a bus!! I seems as if every summer gets more and more hotter… (btw, is that a word? wwww)
    totally mendokusai… that’s what I say…
    Unlike you I’m a winter lover… so, if you like warmth and get annoyed by the heat, imagine people who dislike it! hahaha! It’s almost hell!
    I guess everyone now is feeling the effects of global warmth… It’s kind of sad… but… let’s have some hope!
    I never visited Japan, so… good luck there! I hope it gets better…

    • Dear Cecilia,

      I have to confess I never experienced 44 degrees celcius yet! It must have felt like hell. Larger cities have created heat islands and I do not expect much of a change for the weather until early September. My favorite spots will be around air conditioners.

      All the best and thanks for your comment,

      Sibylle Ito

  2. Im amazed! I know its stupid of me, but after my visit in Japan this easter. I had settled down with that Japanese people are efficient no matter what. And here I get to know that heat is what stop the machine from running smooth. It´s kind of nice for me to know that all the people I saw running a round, doing their work like no one else I ever seen, do get tired now and then.

    I totally understand though. Im from Norway and we are not that used to higher temperatures then +25 in the summer. Higher then that and I feel like Im about to pass out. I prefer it round +20, then its possible to think….

    My view of Japan: http://yowo.wordpress.com/

    Sayonara

    • Dear Sirisau,

      thank you for taking time to comment on my blog.
      I agree that Japanese have a much higher dedication to their job or then to their customers. I have to confess that for the first time in Japan I really learned about the meaning of teamwork. My experience working in Switzerland or US did not prepare me for the necessary sense of duty towards others.
      All the best from another day in hot Tokyo,

      Sibylle Ito

Leave a Reply

