Heat wave still ongoing…


Although you might disagree with me, this year’s summer in Japan is truly challenging for body and soul. My brain activity became slower no matter what, all the liquids seem to immediately evaporate from my skin, while being outside my only desire is to reach a cool spot as soon as possible. For so many days now the temperature during daytime is above 35 C, making it impossible to work, sleep or just do any daily tasks without constant air conditioning. The Japan Meteorological Agency said Sunday that at 114 observation points the temperature was rising to 35 C or higher. For example according to Mainichi Shimbun it was yesterday 37.4 C in Osaka, setting a new record for the longest streak of temperatures rising to 35 C or above at 14 days.
For sure the beverage industry and the indoor leisure facilities are happy about the ongoing heat wave resulting in increased sales, but business overall must be suffering. On the weekends the streets and shopping areas seem rather empty, plus at work the pace seems slower and the main topic is how to cope with this heat. To make matters worse more than 30,000 people have been hospitalized this summer and more than 130 have died in this intense heat wave according to the Fire and Disaster Management Agency.
For sure I am learning a lesson myself too. Although I stayed out of the heat as good as I could, last Friday afternoon I had my turn with a light heat stroke. Please take good care of yourself this summer, your health has to be always top priority. Stay cool!

Brought to you by “strongly sweating” Sibylle Ito (シビル伊藤)

5 thoughts on “Heat wave still ongoing…

  1. I find that drinking Pocari Sweat or Aquarius is the only thing that gets me through long hot days outside. Luckily, I live in the north and it hasn’t been over 35 here yet, but last year the heat really got to me, and I found myself wanting an IV of the stuff.

    • Dear Leah,

      thanks for your comment. I wish I could drink Pocari Sweat or Aquarius. Surprisingly these drinks mess up my stomach very efficiently. I am hocked on “Zakuro/tomato vinegar” water.

      All the best from hot, hot Tokyo,

      Sibylle Ito

Leave a Reply

