Fall has arrived…


Although I grew up being used to experience all the four seasons, I have to say I have learned only in Japan to truly appreciate all the different seasons. Starting off with the cheery blossom (see my previous comments) in spring, it seems to me most Japanese have a deeper, romantic connection to nature. Let me point out I am not talking about an eco-friendly approach, more a nostalgic, dreamlike connection to nature.
Similar to the traditions in spring, in fall it is very common to go out to popular fall foliage destinations. In some cases the trees are even illuminated at night. No matter where you go “Momiji” is the main attraction due to its amazing strong red color. According to Wikipedia “Momiji” is the Japanese Maple (Acer palmatum, irohamomiji, イロハモミジ, or momiji, 紅葉), which is a species of woody plant native to Japan, North Korea, South Korea, China, eastern Mongolia, and southeast Russia. For those readers not in Japan, enjoy the fall with the pictures below.

Power of “Momiji”

In fall not only trees turn completely red, as well flowers

Or how about a firework of color created by a tree

Simple reminders that nothing can last forever…

Even temples seem more peaceful and quiet in the fall

A shrine is sunbathing

Wishing everyone a lovely, rememberable fall!

Brought to you by Sibylle Ito (シビル伊藤)

6 thoughts on “Fall has arrived…

    • Dear Matt,

      thanks for your comment. Tell me more why you all of the sudden get an urge to drink some alcohol while looking at autumn pictures!

      Best regards,

      Sibylle Ito

  1. Dear Mirkka,

    thank you so much for your compliment.
    I guess we are in the same boat. I had planned to visit several temples this fall, but winter is coming soon and I still have not seen my favorite spots. Worst case scenario, at least New Year is coming up, when for sure I will make the local round of the temple and shrines for the “Seven Gods of Fortune”.

    All the best,

    Sibylle

  2. Stunning pictures! The first picture and the temple picture are my favourites. I’d love to go visit temples in fall, you’re right in that they look even more peaceful and quiet in the fall!

  3. This is a good blog message, I will keep the post in my mind. If you can add more video and pictures can be much better. Because they help much clear understanding. 🙂 thanks Somville.

    • Dear Somville,

      thank you very much for your comment. For sure you keep my day full of laughters! This article is one of the few that I had added as a picture overview on how fall is seen in Japan. You had recommended to add a video for better understanding. What is your recommendation? A video showing autumn leaves falling down? I am curious to hear your thoughts.

      Looking forward to hearing more from you,

      Sibylle Ito

Leave a Reply

