What is missing?


Or let me reframe it, is it important to be noticed globally? Recently I had noticed on the internet and while talking with others, that many stated Japanese brands are less often found abroad, especially recently in regard to home electronics a shift had occurred. While being in the US I had the opportunity to check out one popular local electronics store: Best buy. I have to agree with others, because Japanese brands were not visible at first sight. From my observation top spots in the stores are taken now by Korean brands, then the cheap eye catcher are Chinese brands and only then when you go looking for other brands, you stumble upon Sony, Nikon, Olympus, Canon… and others. Or let me give you another example of DHL. Notice the actual advertisement of the magazine FASTCOMPANY November issue. Note all the “cool” locations around the word that are promoted as quickly reachable for everyone. But where is “おはようございます” the Japanese version of good morning?

Not to be found on this map! Yes, just two examples from personal perspective cannot be considered proper research and I do not intend to make a general statement. I am simply wondering whether slowly Japan is moving away from popular attention outside the car and manga related world. Japan is more than just a mystical spot to visit for tourists, but I believe the main challenge is to promote Japan and its products more effectively globally.

Brought to you by Sibylle Ito (シビル伊藤)

4 thoughts on “What is missing?

  1. The content of this article is really the most beneficial material that I’ve ever came across. I love your publish, I’ll occur back to verify for new posts.

  2. Awesome posting man, I incredibly like the look and also the feel of this kind of blogging site. You write certainly well, you just need to be a aware guy. Will undoubtedly come back

Leave a Reply

