Popular dietary supplements in Japan


In the most recent Japanese Health Industry News the top ingredients for the most popular 60 dietary supplements sold in Japan in 2010 were presented. Honestly I am not surprised to find collagen in the top spot for this year and next year. Considering how much Japanese women are concerned about the youth like appearance of their skin, collagen seems to be the common popular solution. You can find collagen in health drinks (for example Meiji Amino collagen, Shiseido collagen) or ramen, plus some restaurants offer special skin friendly collagen hotpot. Then on the second spot glucosamine is expected to sell well for this year and as well in 2011. Glucosamine is covering a different age segment: the elderly, who are experiencing problems with their joints. On the third place an anti-aging product: Placenta. Placenta cosmetics is promoted to stimulate cell renewal function and helps to slow down the aging process.

Out of popular 60 health products sold in Japan, the most popular ingredients for dietary supplements in 2010:

1: Collagen (30 products)
2: Glucosamine (23 products)
3: Placenta (14 products)
4: Hyaluronic acid (11 products)
5: Barley leave powder (6 products)
6: Chondroitin sulfate, dietary supplement for treatment of osteoarthritis (5 products)
6: Blueberry extract (5 products)
6: Turmeric (5 products)

Then for 2011 the expected most popular ingredients in dietary supplements:

1: Collagen (21 products)
2: Glucosamine (19 products)
3: Placenta (15 products)
4: Barley leave powder (7 products)
4: Ginger (7 products)
4: Peucedanum japonicum, traditional herb in the Ryukyu Islands, works as an anti-oxidant (7 products)
7: Chondroitin sulfate, dietary supplement for treatment of osteoarthritis (5 products)
7: Turmeric (5 products)

Honestly I expected to find some vitamins in this list like in other countries, but it seems that Japanese focus is more on beauty, getting enough greens or then keep the liver healthy with Turmeric. Apart from Peucedanum japonicum, I expect another product to become popular in the near future in Japan: SAM-e. Presently it is forecasted on 10th position. S-adenosylmethionine (SAM-E) is an amino acid that is used in the treatment of many conditions including depression, liver disease, osteoarthritis, migraine headaches and others. No matter whether you are taking any dietary supplements or not, wishing you the best health,

Sibylle Ito (シビル伊藤)

28 thoughts on “Popular dietary supplements in Japan

  1. Wonderful blog you have here but I was wanting to know if you knew of any user discussion forums that cover the same topics talked about in this article? I’d really love to be a part of group where I can get feedback from other knowledgeable people that share the same interest.

    If you have any suggestions, please let me know. Appreciate it!

  2. Awesome blog! Is your theme custom made or did you download it from somewhere?
    A design like yours with a few simple tweeks would
    really make my blog stand out. Please let me know where you got your design.

    Thanks

    • Dear Angel,

      thanks a lot for your compliment. Note that you can get the same design from WordPress. It is truly a great blogging tool.

      Good luck with your blogging,

      Sibylle Ito

  3. Hi! I’ve been reading your blog for some time now and finally got the courage to go ahead and give you a shout out from Kingwood Texas!
    Just wanted to mention keep up the good job!

  4. I feel this is among the so much vital info for me. The web site taste is perfect, the articles is actually nice : D.
    Excellent process, cheers

    • Dear Max,
      thanks for your compliment. What was your impression about the newest article with more updated info on the health food business in Japan?
      I am looking forward to hearing from you again,

      Sibylle Ito

  5. I really like what you guys are up too. This sort of clever work and coverage! Keep up the awesome works guys I’ve added you guys to our blogroll.

    • Dear Code Red7,

      thanks for the compliment. Just a side comment: I am the only one who writes articles on this blog and furthermore I am a woman 😉

      Thanks guys 😉

      Sibylle Ito

  6. Great post however , I was wondering if you could write a litte more on this topic? I’d be very grateful if you could elaborate a little bit more. Many thanks!

    • Dear Tonya,

      thank you very much for your comment. Can you let me know what especially interested you about Japanese dietary supplements? I see that you are interested or potentially promoted stomach fat burning supplements, but I am sorry to say I not yet focused on this topic. Let me know where you see a need for further information.

      Looking forward to hearing more feedback from you,

      Sibylle Ito

  7. Wonderful blog! I found it while surfing around on Yahoo News. Do you have any tips on how to get listed in Yahoo News? I’ve been trying for a while but I never seem to get there!
    Thanks

    • Dear Lemonclub,

      thank you for your comment, but I believe you must have misread. I don’t think there could be any reason that this blog would be contained in any Yahoo News. If so, let me know what kind of article, because the one just above is not the newest update on dietary supplements in Japan.
      Sorry, I cannot provide you with any hints on how to get into Yahoo News. It is definitely not the goal on my end.

      Good luck with getting Lemonclub famous,

      Sibylle Ito

  8. Hi there, i read your blog from time to time and i own a similar one and i was just curious if you get a lot of spam responses? If so how do you stop it, any plugin or anything you can suggest? I get so much lately it’s driving me mad so any help is very much appreciated.

    • Dear Margery,

      thank you very much for your comment. To be honest, do get some spam, but because I am using wordpress as my blogging tool it does not bother me. Lots of spam gets filtered, so it is not really an issue. Why don’t you try wordpress?

      Wishing you lots of success,

      Sibylle Ito

    • Dear Ralf,

      thank you very much for taking time to comment. I definitely recommend you to read up more about health food in Japan in “The Health Industry News” which contains very valuable information in Japanese. Otherwise why don’t you participate or visit the Tokyo Health Industry show held every year.

      Good luck with your promotion of the Diet Ultimo,

      Sibylle Ito

  9. This website was… how do you say it? Relevant!!
    Finally I have found something which helped me. Appreciate it!

    • Dear Tracy,

      thank you very much for your compliment, although I have to confess I did not expect that data from 2010 could be helpful for you.
      I am looking forward to seeing you here again.

      With best regards,

      Sibylle Ito

    • Dear PHPMelody1.6.6,

      thank you so much for your compliment. Just come back here, because my goal is to keep this blog updated on business and cultural issues related to Japan.

      All the best from sunny Tokyo,

      Sibylle

  10. Hi,
    Your post is quite informative. Can you tell me what is the present scenario in 2013? Also, it would be great if you could shed some light on the top 10 dietary supplements being sold as well…

    Thanks in advance

  11. Pingback: World Spinner

Leave a Reply

