One in every four emergency calls is not an emergency!


Today with the newspaper I have received a flyer from the local police. Apart from the typical cautions about scamming tricks and how to increase local safety, an educational article was added to point out the existence of the #9110 number to be used for police related concerns, but not actually related to an emergency. Along the same lines last week according to Nippon Television (TV channel 4 in Tokyo) morning program, they pointed out that one in every four calls to the emergency number is unrelated to an actual emergency. Honestly while I was first shocked about the misuse of the emergency number first, I was blown away by the selfishness and stupidity of some callers. For example the following calls were actually made to the Japanese emergency number (number 110):

– “My washing machine does not work. Can you send someone to fix it?
– “I have a cockroach in my kitchen. Come and take it away!”
– “Can you come to pick me up? I am tired, but have no money to pay for the taxi. Bring me home by a police car!”

In case if you ever are in an actual emergency, do understand that I strongly support the use of the police emergence number 110, but otherwise don’t forget to use the number #9110. The focus should be on allowing prompt support for every emergency and not jamming up the phone line with selfish childlike behavior.

Brought to you by Sibylle Ito (シビル伊藤)

2 thoughts on “One in every four emergency calls is not an emergency!

    • Dear Margret,

      thank you very much for your comment, but I have to say I am concerned to read that you see other blogs of mine. Honestly this is the only one I have … if you know of other sites, do let me know! If would be for sure interesting to know about it.

      With best regards,

      Sibylle Ito

Leave a Reply

