Save back home


Just a quick note: The earthquake hit when I was in Tokyo Narita airport ready to check in for my business trip. First I was stuck at the airport with loads of other people. Later I was lucky to get a lift from a friend out of the airport back into Tokyo. Safe and exhausted made it today back home.
My husband walked home from his office for 4 hours arrived safely too.
In the meantime I have received emails from most of the relatives and friends. Relieved that most are either already home or on the way to home.

Exhausted from this nightmare becoming real,

Sibylle Ito

P.S. Forget the phone lines as connections are hard to get. Try to reach your friends by mobile phone email or PC email; safest way for connection for the moment.

5 thoughts on “Save back home

  1. Glad to see you’re ok. This is a huge tragedy and we can only hope for everything to be ok from now on, specially with regards to what’s going on with the power plants. Stay safe!

    • Dear GPJ,

      it is true that for the last few days many visitors to Japan or foreign locals with limited Japanese knowledge felt lost. Especially during this nerve wraking period having news updates in a language, which is understood is basic. While nonsenses is tweeted as well, I believe still twitter can be a good news source too.

      All the best from another “Tokyo fighter” to bring economical strength back to Japan,

      Sibylle Ito

  2. I’m an avid follower of your blog and I thank you for keeping us updated. I continue to pray for everyone affected by this tragedy. I am especially praying that the nuclear plants don’t get any worse. I just saw on the news that there was an explosion at the Fukishima plant. I hope you continue to remain safe and my prayers are with you.

    • Dear Lindychan,

      thank you so much for you kind words. No matter where you are now in Japan, this disaster has influenced everyone. With every aftershake all the horrible pictures come up again and feeling safe is a contant mind battle. Step by step we will get back to normal, but we will not be the same as before.
      Especially now kindness and help in any way can make a huge difference.

      From the still shakey, wobbly Tokyo,

      Sibylle Ito

Leave a Reply

