My top five favorite spots in Japan


A year ago I had started with this blog and throughout this year I truly hope I could bring you closer to Japan, its culture and society, plus its unique business style. As a celebration for the 1st birthday of this blog, let me introduce you to my top 5 favorite spots in Japan. While some might be part of the typical tourist agenda, some sports are a bit further away from the beaten path.

1. Nara
Todaiji has a deeper meaning for me, because on my first trip to Japan it was the spot where I decided to come back to Japan. Simply because I felt at home. Since then whenever I have big events or changes in my life, a visit to my favorite Buddha is a must.

While the statue was consecrated in 752, the wooden structure burned down a couple of times due to local wars with the final construction during Edo Period. This wooden structure is still the largest wooden structure in the world.

2. Doi (Hotel Fujiya):
Quiet country side, good view of the ocean, marvelous food… do I have to say more?

3. Kumano Nachi Taisha Grand Shrine
The serenity of the environment fills my heart with a strong peaceful feeling.

While on the top you can admire the waterfall, I enjoy as well the walk from the bottom up to the shrine, because it gives you a good sense that thousands of people for hundreds years had been traveling this road to pray.

4. Itsukushima: popularly known as Miyajima (Shrine Island)
Staying at Itsukushima for a day is wonderful, because it allows you to experience the shrine with many different tidal settings.

Furthermore the view from Mount Misen (535m on Itsukushima) is a must!

5. Kurashiki
This old city captured my heart with its old parts, but as well with the Japan’s first museum for Western art: Ohara Museum of Art.

Thank you very much for all your time spent reading or commenting on this blog. I am looking forward to give you further insights to Japan.

All the best from a very happy

Sibylle Ito (シビル伊藤)

4 thoughts on “My top five favorite spots in Japan

  1. Having been in Japan for 12 years, I have never been to any of those places, we’ve been to many, but I’d really love to visit other areas, if not for the culture but at least for a photo shoot = )

    • Dear Elle Marie,

      thanks for your comment. I truly hope that you find time to visit those places. Not all spots are popular with the general public, but because I like to have from time to time some off time from Tokyo, the above 5 spots are for me the perfect places.

      All the best,

      Sibylle

    • Dear Blue Shoe,

      thank you very much for your good wishes. I will do my best to improve my blog further.

      I have to confess that Miyajima might rise in the list, if I ever have the chance to see a firework there. It must be heaven. Otherwise I have conciously not added Kyoto, because I am an old Japanese history freek. I admire Asuka and Nara period. The following period when the capital moved to Kyoto seem to modern to me. So why add then for example a “young” city like Kurashiki: Simply because there are few cities left in Japan which can give you a good sense on how Japan must have been many, many years ago.

      Being curious, what would be your top 5 spots in Japan?

      Looking forward to hearing from you again,

      Sibylle

Leave a Reply

