As a child in what animal did you wish to be transformed?


The Nikkei Shimbun had asked recently in March 191 kids in the range of 6 to 15 years about their preferred animal they were dreaming to become if given a choice. Personally I do remember having this thought, but when stated openly everyone was complaining that I was considering a fictious animal. Actually my dream was to be a dragon as they were not only able to fly, but as well they must feel all the time warm due their fire shooting capabilities. Originally I was thinking about a penguin, but then considering the typical cold environment, I switched to a dragon. As you can see from the top 10 of the Japanese kids, no one came up with a similar idea.

1. Cat
2. Dog
3. Rabbit
4. Monkey
5. Sloth
6. Sheep, squirrel
8. Koala
9. Panda
10. Cow

As a true cats lover I am happy to see cats as number one, but at the same time, I am surprised to find rabbits, sheeps and cows listed. I would have never considered these animals to have an exciting life nor as something special. Maybe it was then already early on in my genes that I wanted to move one day to an exciting different environment and therefore had chosen an animal I could barely relate to. What was your decision as a child? What animal did you want to be?

Brought to you by Sibylle Ito (シビル伊藤)

7 thoughts on “As a child in what animal did you wish to be transformed?

    • Dear iMorpheus,

      thanks for your comment and visit to this site. I guess someone with sleep depriviation must be dreaming about sleeping many hours per day, so being a sloth must sound like heaven.

      All the best from sunny Tokyo,

      Sibylle

    • Dear Paulo,

      I am very happy to hear that. I hope that one day I can have a cat again at home… but as long as I am traveling quite a bit and work too much, it would be simply unfair to have an additional member in our family. Or maybe I should go for fishes, as they need less attention from me :O

      All the best,

      Sibylle

      • I offered my mum a cat on her last birthday because she really loves cats too and it had already passed two years since our other cat had died (at the age of 18!)… She named him Miyagi because it remembered her of Mr Miyagi from the Karate Kid. No need to say that I loved the name! 🙂

Leave a Reply

