Top five recommended activities in Tokyo for June


The wonderful side of summer in Tokyo has started, when we have temperatures around the mid 20C and a nice constant breeze. Soon “tsuyu” the Japanese rainy season in early June will start and afterwards the summer will shift to hot and humid temperatures. Potentially with all the needed electricity conservation demands, traveling on trains and being inside department stores or shopping malls will be a bit hotter than in the past. Therefore even though it might rain, June is now the perfect season to explore Tokyo. According to the Enjoy Tokyo magazine Tokyo Trend Ranking the top 5 recommended spots are as following:

1. Bunkyo Ward “Ajisai-Matsuri” (Hydrangea Festival):
In Japanese hydrangea is called “ajisai”, which can be seen as a symbol of the rainy season in Japan. The beauty of the flower lies in its changes in color depending on the time or climate of the day.

2. Enjoying fireflies outside:
I have heard that fireflies have as well some romantic meaning, but it seems to me much more connected with Japan then with name giving. According to the Japan Times there are two predominant varieties of fireflies in Japan are known as genji-botaru and heike-botaru. The larger and brighter is a genji variety (Luciola cruciata) named after the character from the 11th-century novel “The Tale of Genji” by Murasaki Shikibu, and the smaller heike variety (Luciola lateralis) named after the almost-as-famous 14th-century “The Tale of Heike.”

3. Yokohama Red Brick Warehouse (Aka Renga):
Celebrating the 100 year festival: Aka Renga are actually two historical buildings, officially known in the past as the Newport Pier Tax Keeping Warehouse (新港埠頭保税倉庫), which were originally used as customs buildings. The building number 2 had been set up 100 years ago.

4. Namco Namja Town:
It is actually an indoor theme park with Namco character mascots exclusive to the park in the Sunshine City shopping complex in Ikebukuro. Originally the park opened in 1996 by Namco (Japanese video game producer). One of the attraction for hot summer temperature is “ice cream city”.

5. Charity Japan: Beer Festival Tokyo 2011 (Ebisu Garden Place):
About 150 different Japanese beers will be available for degustation, when you can do at the same time a good deed, because 100 yen of the entry charge will go to Tohoku Recovery. Note it will be held only on June 4th to 5th.

For sure there is a variety of attractions to enjoy before true summer heat kicks in. Let’s enjoy the time outside now, heaven knows whether we will set a foot outdoor during this summer.

Brought to you by Sibylle Ito (シビル伊藤)

10 thoughts on “Top five recommended activities in Tokyo for June

    • Dear Elle Marie,

      Aka Renga is such a great place! I love to go to Jazz concerts there or see the fireworks.
      When I was dating my husband we spent some time there too, so you can imagine it is a special spot for me.

      Thanks for all your time to comment,

      Sibylle

        • Dear Elle Marie,

          I think we might have found a “dating powerspot”! Kind of scary, it seems that fast food is a good tool when dating foreigners 😛
          Our first burger was with Wendy’s, but on another date we went to Kuwainna too.

          All the best,

          Sibylle

  1. Hello, I enjoyed no 2,3,5 before.
    I know “Namco Namja Town” but I have never been to there yet.
    I didn’t know ”Ajisai-Matsuri” . It seems enjoyable and beautiful. If I have a chance, I’ll go there.Thank you for sharing.

    • Dear Cocomino,

      do I understand you right, most likely you have fixed your plans now for June? Please let us know what you actually did and what you liked the most. Most likely I will not able to enjoy anything of the list myself, because about half of the month I will be on a business trip abroad, plus some local business trips too. On the other hand I have to confess I cannot see the beauty in Ajisai. When I see the flower I am just reminded of the wet rainy season. Every time I feel as if my feet got wet from the rain, air is dump and snails everywhere…

      I truly always appreciate your comments,

      Sibylle

      • I see. I don’t have any plan for June yet.
        However, I’ll write about affairs about this June.
        During the rainy season, we can enjoy, perhaps..

        • Dear Cocomino,

          good to hear back from you. I am looking forward to reading an article on your blog then in June, of course only if you find time to attend one of the events.

          Let’s dry our best to stay dry during rainy season,

          Sibylle Ito

  2. If you have not visited it before, I would also recommend a June visit to the Iris Flower Garden in Meiji Shrine. The internet or Japan Times should have information about when the flowers are in full bloom.

    • Dear David,

      thank you so much for visiting the blog and even commenting here.

      Athough I had been a couple of times to the Meiji Jingu I had never checked out the Iris Flower garden. Good idea, hopefully I can explore it myself soon.

      All the best from rainy Tokyo,

      Sibylle Ito

Leave a Reply

