Admiring Rohto marketing strategy


I must say I enjoy following the business strategy of Japanese Pharma companies. Although most of the companies have weak pipelines (limited about of new drugs to come out), while at the same time their block buster drug patents is expiring soon, as a consequence to counteract the expected drop in turnover many companies are expanding now their product portfolio with high profit products. One interesting example to observe is Rohto. Thinking simply how you can increase profit to the maximum, you dream about a product that has a very low creating cost and can then be sold to a high price. Along these lines, I am truly amazed about Rohto, because they are creating a new market of the “very high priced mineral water”. This marketing strategy is simply genius, because would you have thought about selling water from Takushima (World heritage site)? Considering the site, a price of JPY 560 for 2 bottles of 300ml seems just right?! With the right branding, this water cannot be compared to any foreign or local mountain water.
For sure the timing to bring out this brand is absolutely perfect, because I see now after Fukushima more and more people concerned about the source of their water. Using in their ad then the obvious fact that 60% of the body consists of water, so why shouldn’t I want to have the best water possible for my body? I might potentially not taking good enough care of my body, but honestly I prefer to stay with Brita filtered tap water.

Brought to you by Sibylle Ito (シビル伊藤)

4 thoughts on “Admiring Rohto marketing strategy

  1. I always thought that tap water in Japan where I lived in the foothills was pretty tasty. That was from 1990-94, people did drink unfiltered water then. I hope the quality of water outside of Tokyo and Fukushima is still as high quality as before.

    You are right about the marketing and timing of selling that high end mineral water in Japan these days.

    • Dear Toadflax,

      maybe I am picky, because as soon as you have to add chlorine to tap water, it cannot taste good. Of course Tokyo is not very bad, but I would not consider it tasty. As soon as water has a smell to it, I prefer to filter it. You can blame me, that I grew up in Switzerland thinking unless it is bottled, gased water it cannot taste good. I usually did not drink tap water as a child, now when I am in Switzerland I am amazed about the clear taste and absolutely no smell.

      On the other hand, radioactivity is done now to normal level in Kanto area, but in some areas of Fukushima you still have to stay away from drinking water.

      Thanks for your time to comment.
      Wishing you all the best,

      Sibylle Ito

  2. Speaking of water, I bought some from South Korea the other day because everything else was sold out (possibly due to the heat), I don’t have a brita but I sure do love my Contrex.

    • Dear Elle Marie,

      I truly appreciate your constant comments, because they mean a lot to me.
      I have seen i.e. at Aeon that over time the sold water brand are changing. As you mentioned all of the sudden new brands from abroad pop up and presently it is difficult to say whether it is due to an increased demand of water, bottlenecks at some local sites after the earthquake or just a simple marketing strategy. So far I have not seen any figures about the recent mineral water consumption.
      For me brita has the advantage that I don’t need to carry water home, just simply can filter my tap water (get rid of chlorine is my main goal).

      Wishing you a great day,

      Sibylle

Leave a Reply

