Ah, Osechi Ryori!


DSC_0371

Days have already passed since the change to the year of 2013 and the marvelous Osechi Ryori is already digested. As I had promised earlier, I am posting the actual picture of this years feast. It was as delicious as expected and it was more than two truly hungry people can eat. Traditionally special rice wine is drunken with Osechi Ryori, but at our home we have a different tradition. Usually we either select a one of a kind champagner or white wine, meaning we are only willing to pay that much for this special beverage once a year. This year it was a special white wine from New Zealand, which tasted perfectly with the rather sweet and strong-tasting food.
The actual Osechi this year had three layers:

osechi overview

Most impressive this year was the quality of the fish or vegetables. I will not forget the softness of the bamboo sprout!
Osechi top layer

Additionally the fish cakes (red and white) and the small sweetish fishes are my favorite each year.
Osechi lower layer

The good news is that I have to wait now less than one year for the next Osechi Ryori.

Brought to you by Sibylle Ito (伊藤シビル)

One thought on “Ah, Osechi Ryori!

  1. The fishcakes look absolutely delicious! One day I must try this myself!

    By the way, I have my own blog which focuses on Asian culture and entertainment such as video games and I wonder if it is possible for you to view it and tell me what you think about my blog: http://nynyonlinex.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

