Where is the Japanese economy going?


DVC00038.JPG When I look at the Japanese media, I see a lot of comments that especially in 2014 now everything is so much better: The economic situation, the mood of the consumers, we can highly expect a rise in consumption with the upcoming Tokyo Olympics and the outlook for future sales of the private industry is much brighter. To be honest, this is a topic that interests me very much. Since the last quarter of 2013 I felt and observed that although there are more people going out, filling up the malls or supermarkets, I could not see people really purchasing much. I made the same observation in business, especially when talking with others. The orders just did not seem to come in, plus to make it worse the order volume were lower than the same period last year (which had not been that good either). On one side with the rise of the stock market we can see an upwards trend, but when I look into the reality of the daily life the baskets of the people shopping contain only the necessary daily goods. I might be at the wrong places and I might be missing the bright side. Basically I cannot find people really splurging with money.
For the Japanese employees there is a high hope that one day the steady decrease of salary will turn around and as promised by the Japanese prime minister the salary would rise again. Furthermore in December the winter bonuses were paid and many hoped for a positive surprise. Here again, I don’t know anyone who was lucky. It seems the lucky ones were the ones who did not get the bonus cut in any way. Seeing such a big gap to the Japanese media, I got concerned. I was lucky to find a well researched article (Deflation Watch: New Year’s scorecard) in the Japan Times that basically reflects the same thoughts. We are being told that things are moving towards the bright side, while most of the Japanese population has to live with a much darker reality. While on one side I am happy to see that my senses are not completely wrong, at the same time I am worried about the rising gap between what I am told to see and what I am personally observing.

Brought to you by Sibylle Ito (伊藤シビル)

9 thoughts on “Where is the Japanese economy going?

  1. I’m extremely impressed with your writing skills as well as with the layout on your blog. Is this a paid theme or did you customize it yourself?
    Either way keep up the excellent quality writing, it is rare to see a great blog like this one today.

    • Dear Edwin,

      thank you very much for your compliment. As for the layout there is nothing special I have done on my end. I am using wordpress. For sure I can recommend it to you for use as well.
      Good luck with your blogging then as well!

      Sibylle Ito

    • Dear Hubbs,

      thanks a lot for your feedback. I am happy to hear that you liked my article. Feel free to comment in the future more detailed about what you liked or not.

      With best regards,

      Sibylle Ito

  2. Wow that was strange. I just wrote an very long comment but after I clicked submit my comment didn’t show up. Grrrr… well I’m not writing all that over again. Anyhow, just wanted to say great blog!

    • Dear Flitton,

      thanks for your comment. Too bad that you lost your comment.
      Feel free to add your comment or potentially your questions about Japan.

      Good day for you,

      Sibylle Ito

    • Dear Lucy,

      thank you very much for your compliment. I hope it stays so for the future. Let me know if you have certain topics that you are especially interested in.

      With best regards,

      Sibylle Ito

Leave a Reply

